ImageImage

Hrunga's computer sick

Anything You want to talk about NOT ET related. Drop in and say Hi.
Post Reply
User avatar
Hrunga_Zmuda
Clan Member
Clan Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 7:00 pm
Location: Oceanside, CA
Contact:

Hrunga's computer sick

Post by Hrunga_Zmuda » Sat Oct 09, 2010 9:40 pm

Hey guys, you might have noticed I have not been on for a few days. There is some kind of problem with my computer. Not sure what it is. Every time I load a game that uses graphics heavily, the screen starts doing weird things.

It was 100 percent repeatable within seconds of getting into a game on my computer. ETQW, Halo and Quake Live. But of course, when I took it in, I could not demonstrate the problem to the tech. I had stripped out my four hard drives and RAM and put the stock RAM I got with the computer, and it behaved perfectly at the store. The techs took it in the back and ran stress tests on it for more than two hours. Not a blip.

So I brought it home and hooked it up exactly with the same configuration as the store. The only difference is my monitor. Wham, in a matter of seconds the problem is back. (I got video wtih my iPhone this time!)

So now I have to figure out if the problem is my monitor. I may have to go out and buy a monitor tomorrow at Costco to test it out. (Of course, I can take it back.) :wtg: :lmao:

So you guys won't see me back until I figure out what the problem is. I miss hanging with you guys and will try to get this thing solved ASAP.

User avatar
KrispyKritter
Retired Clan Member
Retired Clan Member
Posts: 977
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 7:00 pm

Post by KrispyKritter » Sun Oct 10, 2010 12:01 am

my Idea did not work. Could not replicate the problem.
Last edited by KrispyKritter on Sun Oct 10, 2010 6:30 am, edited 2 times in total.
KrispyKritter aka Chatty (glitchy finger) Charlie
Image(pcB)

User avatar
Him-Again
Clan Member
Clan Member
Posts: 394
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 7:00 pm
Location: Australia

Post by Him-Again » Sun Oct 10, 2010 2:28 am

Damm Damm computers and there components :wall:

If its not one thing its another,did notice you not on the last couple of days mate.

So hope to see you back in action soon bro :wtg:

User avatar
Hrunga_Zmuda
Clan Member
Clan Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 7:00 pm
Location: Oceanside, CA
Contact:

Post by Hrunga_Zmuda » Mon Oct 11, 2010 12:45 am

Him-Again wrote:Damm Damm computers and there components :wall:

If its not one thing its another,did notice you not on the last couple of days mate.

So hope to see you back in action soon bro :wtg:
Thanks bro!

User avatar
Sissyboy
Clan Member
Clan Member
Posts: 917
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 7:00 pm
Location: Playing ETQW at home... or stuck at work

Post by Sissyboy » Wed Oct 13, 2010 9:14 am

Get the monitor already Hrunga!

I'm stuck just picking on Buffalo Bully..

Hang in there bud!
Will Ban for Stroyent.

User avatar
Sissyboy
Clan Member
Clan Member
Posts: 917
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 7:00 pm
Location: Playing ETQW at home... or stuck at work

Post by Sissyboy » Wed Oct 13, 2010 9:19 pm

Heck. NO Hrunga lately. Buffalo missed tonight. and I didnt even see HimAgain.

No idea what happened to Road, and I used to play with this guy that has no arms...

And to top it off, my favorite BBA guy to kill didnt show either. (you know who you are. DO YOUR HOMEWORK)




Good/great players on tonight though. 10-13

Always fun.

See ya guys soon.



Get it already Hrunga!
Will Ban for Stroyent.

User avatar
Him-Again
Clan Member
Clan Member
Posts: 394
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 7:00 pm
Location: Australia

Post by Him-Again » Wed Oct 13, 2010 11:31 pm

Poor sissyboy

Sorry mate had to go to the US embassy to get my visa (what a pain that is to do) :wall:

And i wont be back on until Monday now as it is my wedding anniversary so we are off for a dirty weekend :wtg:

Have a good weekend and hurry up and get your ass back in the game hrunga :lol:
Last edited by Him-Again on Thu Oct 14, 2010 5:35 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
bibizz944x
Retired Clan Member
Retired Clan Member
Posts: 655
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 7:00 pm
Location: Montreal,Quebec

Re: Hrunga's computer sick

Post by bibizz944x » Thu Oct 14, 2010 1:42 am

Hrunga_Zmuda wrote: I had stripped out my four hard drives and RAM and put the stock RAM I got with the computer, and it behaved perfectly at the store. The techs took it in the back and ran stress tests on it for more than two hours. Not a blip.

So I brought it home and hooked it up exactly with the same configuration as the store. The only difference is my monitor. Wham, in a matter of seconds the problem is back. (I got video wtih my iPhone this time!)

So now I have to figure out if the problem is my monitor.
My 2 cents ....... :shrug: Get the same monitor as the tech got at the store....you're almost sure of your shot :huh: Got nothing to lose except the time it will take you to go back to the store to return the monitor....for me it's the better thing to try first .....if it worked at the store ,why at home it should'nt .

If it's not that ,i'd go back to that store to see thar tech. again :club:
I really hope that you'll find a solution my friend :wtg:

ImageImageImageImageImage Image

User avatar
Sissyboy
Clan Member
Clan Member
Posts: 917
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 7:00 pm
Location: Playing ETQW at home... or stuck at work

Post by Sissyboy » Thu Oct 14, 2010 9:06 am

Him-Again wrote: And i wont be back on until Monday now as it is my wedding anniversary so we are off for a dirty weekend :wtg:
Dirty old man.

:wtg:
Will Ban for Stroyent.

User avatar
TheDecipher
BBA ShouldBe
BBA ShouldBe
Posts: 267
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 7:00 pm

Post by TheDecipher » Thu Oct 14, 2010 4:37 pm

Sissyboy wrote: And to top it off, my favorite BBA guy to kill didnt show either. (you know who you are. DO YOUR HOMEWORK)
:lmao: :lmao: :hail: Yes Sir, Right Away! ROFLMAO

User avatar
Sissyboy
Clan Member
Clan Member
Posts: 917
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 7:00 pm
Location: Playing ETQW at home... or stuck at work

Post by Sissyboy » Thu Oct 14, 2010 5:00 pm

TheDecipher wrote:
Sissyboy wrote: And to top it off, my favorite BBA guy to kill didnt show either. (you know who you are. DO YOUR HOMEWORK)
:lmao: :lmao: :hail: Yes Sir, Right Away! ROFLMAO
You decipher that one Decipher?
Will Ban for Stroyent.

User avatar
Hrunga_Zmuda
Clan Member
Clan Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 7:00 pm
Location: Oceanside, CA
Contact:

Post by Hrunga_Zmuda » Thu Oct 14, 2010 9:53 pm

Sissyboy wrote:Heck. NO Hrunga lately. Buffalo missed tonight. and I didnt even see HimAgain.

No idea what happened to Road, and I used to play with this guy that has no arms...

And to top it off, my favorite BBA guy to kill didnt show either. (you know who you are. DO YOUR HOMEWORK)




Good/great players on tonight though. 10-13

Always fun.

See ya guys soon.



Get it already Hrunga!
Well, I got the diagnosis from three levels up at Apple's egineering. It's my graphics card causing kernel panics. :reddot:

And they happen so fast the normal kernel panic gray screen doesn't show up. :wall:

What's a kernel panic? :shrug:

That's UNIX talk for the Mac equivalent of Windows BSOD. :duh:

So they are sending me a new graphics card free of charge tomorrow. :party3:

I'll get it probably the middle of next week. I'll self-install and then I'll be back online shooting you guys! :camper:

User avatar
Hrunga_Zmuda
Clan Member
Clan Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 7:00 pm
Location: Oceanside, CA
Contact:

Re: Hrunga's computer sick

Post by Hrunga_Zmuda » Thu Oct 14, 2010 10:01 pm

bibizz944x wrote:
Hrunga_Zmuda wrote: I had stripped out my four hard drives and RAM and put the stock RAM I got with the computer, and it behaved perfectly at the store. The techs took it in the back and ran stress tests on it for more than two hours. Not a blip.

So I brought it home and hooked it up exactly with the same configuration as the store. The only difference is my monitor. Wham, in a matter of seconds the problem is back. (I got video wtih my iPhone this time!)

So now I have to figure out if the problem is my monitor.
My 2 cents ....... :shrug: Get the same monitor as the tech got at the store....you're almost sure of your shot :huh: Got nothing to lose except the time it will take you to go back to the store to return the monitor....for me it's the better thing to try first .....if it worked at the store ,why at home it should'nt .

If it's not that ,i'd go back to that store to see thar tech. again :club:
I really hope that you'll find a solution my friend :wtg:

ImageImageImageImageImage Image
Thanks man. I took my monitor in, and it didn't help! :mad: :eew: :cry:

But we be back soon! :wtg: :wtg: :wtg:

User avatar
Hrunga_Zmuda
Clan Member
Clan Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 7:00 pm
Location: Oceanside, CA
Contact:

Post by Hrunga_Zmuda » Thu Oct 14, 2010 10:05 pm

Him-Again wrote:Poor sissyboy

Sorry mate had to go to the US embassy to get my visa (what a pain that is to do) :wall:

And i wont be back on until Monday now as it is my wedding anniversary so we are off for a dirty weekend :wtg:

Have a good weekend and hurry up and get your ass back in the game hrunga :lol:
Yes sir! And welcome to America. :axe:

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests