Image

Zeus's keybinds with text?

Game Questions and Help / Errors and Game Issues
Locked
surfgeko

Zeus's keybinds with text?

Post by surfgeko » Sat Jan 06, 2007 12:46 am

hey all, i've been trying to get this working myself for a while now, and i don't quite have it yet. I'm taking zeus's fancy-pantsy pre-done voice bind thing from the DL section, and customizing the words and stuff to my needs. I have changed the voice.cfg and the keyinfo.cfg, but all i did was replace some commands. It works fine. But now i want to add my custom text to it, so i make it

Code: Select all

bind PGDN "vsay_team Negative (^>NO ^*WAY ^=BUDDY^>!)"
rather than

Code: Select all

bind PGDN "vsay_team Negative"
now, nothing works!? :huh:

help a g3ko out! :help:

Kweegwin666

Post by Kweegwin666 » Sat Jan 06, 2007 12:19 pm

i havent looked at the one u are using but for my custom binds i made file autoexec.cfg

this is wut mine looks like

____________________________________________________________

exec kweeg.cfg

bind K kill
bind j say Bah!
bind p vsay Move
bind m vsay_team medic
bind i vsay_team needAmmo
bind F8 say ^1English Only In ^2Global^1 and ^5Team^1 Chat!
bind , vsay FTAttack
bind H vsay Cheer You Just Owned Me!
bind F10 say Say Cheese!
_____________________________________________________________

its just simple stuff. the "exec kweeg.cfg" is execing my name script

then when i get all that typed in and saved, u go into ET and type /exec autoexec.cfg , and then they should all work if u done them right.

just remember that u have to SAVE the autoexec.CFG as .CFG, if u just type autoexec , it will save it as .txt :eek:

NOTE: i dont have alot of custom texts, most are just hotkeys to normal commands.. durrrrr :shrug:

blitzer
Retired Clan Member
Retired Clan Member
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 7:00 pm
Location: Kennesaw

Post by blitzer » Sat Jan 06, 2007 5:35 pm

I just do mine in game, saves time and I couldn't figure out how to do the whole .cfg file thing :lol:
Why do people call other people noobs, newbs, or nubs? If you're gonna insult someone, idiot works just fine =)

surfgeko

Post by surfgeko » Sat Jan 06, 2007 6:59 pm

thats wat i did before, but i am too lazy to go and type it all into the console :shrug:

Kweegwin666

Post by Kweegwin666 » Sat Jan 06, 2007 9:21 pm

if u make the .cfg files it will save u alot of time and trouble if u ever need to reinstall ET. u can just copy the autoexec.cfg file to a CD or flash drive (i think that wut it called) or a Floppy if ur old school. and then just paste it in ur ETMain file on the fresh install.

User avatar
Nerdy
Retired Clan Member
Retired Clan Member
Posts: 63
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 7:00 pm
Location: Hiding in the bushes...

Post by Nerdy » Sun Jan 07, 2007 9:16 am

First of all, I would advise putting ALL of your binds in your autoexec.bat, it makes it a good bit easier (in most cases).

Here's what mine looks like:

Code: Select all

unbindall
seta name "^4<{^3BBA^4}>^pTaterch^1!^pp"

//Name changing script
set gamename1 "name ^4<{^3BBA^4}>^1!^2=^pNerdy^2=^1!; set nextname vstr gamename2"
set gamename2 "name ^4<{^3BBA^4}>^pTaterch^1!^pp; set nextname vstr gamename1"
set nextname "vstr gamename1"
bind z "vstr nextname"


set cg_atmosphericeffects 0
seta cg_gibs "1"

bind a "exec autoexec.cfg"
bind TAB "+scores"
bind ENTER "+activate"
bind ESCAPE "togglemenu"
bind SPACE "+moveup"
bind KP_MINUS "vsay_team FTCoverMe"
bind semicolon "vsay_team NeedAmmo"
bind ' "vsay_team ftreviveme"
bind \ "vsay cheer"
bind * "vsay oops"
bind . "mp_fireteamadmin"
bind 0 "+zoom"
bind [ "vsay negative"
bind ] "vsay affirmative"
bind ` "toggleconsole"
bind m "mvactivate"
bind o "vsay hi"
bind p "vsay_team incoming"
bind t "messagemode"
bind u "messagemode3"
bind = "mp_quickmessage"
bind y "messagemode2"
bind ~ "toggleconsole"
bind CAPSLOCK "+speed"
bind UPARROW "+forward"
bind DOWNARROW "+back"
bind LEFTARROW "+moveleft"
bind RIGHTARROW "+moveright"
bind ALT "+stats"
bind CTRL "+moveup"
bind SHIFT "+sprint"
bind INS "wm_sayplayerclass"
bind DEL "+leanleft"
bind PGDN "+leanright"
bind PGUP "vsay welcome"
bind HOME "vsay thanks"
bind END "weaponbank 5"
bind F1 "vote yes"
bind F2 "vote no"
bind F3 "ready"
bind F4 "notready"
bind F11 "autoscreenshot"
bind F12 "autorecord"
bind KP_HOME "+mapexpand"
bind KP_UPARROW "weaponbank 4"
bind KP_PGUP "vstr waffenanzeige"
bind KP_LEFTARROW "+reload"
bind KP_5 "weaponbank 7"
bind KP_RIGHTARROW "selectbuddy 5"
bind KP_END "+prone"
bind KP_DOWNARROW "weaponbank 6"
bind KP_PGDN "weaponbank 1"
bind KP_ENTER "mp_fireteamadmin"
bind KP_INS "+movedown"
bind KP_DEL "+speed"
bind KP_SLASH "vsay sorry"
bind KP_PLUS "vsay_team disarmdynamite"
bind MOUSE1 "+attack"
bind b "+attack2"
bind MOUSE2 "+attack2"
bind MOUSE3 "openlimbomenu"
bind MWHEELDOWN "weapprev"
bind MWHEELUP "weapnext"
bind 4 "weaponbank 2"
bind 5 "weaponbank 3"
bind / kill
I'm no master cfg maker, but I've learned enough to get one to work.

Keep in mind that the etconfig reflects what the current binds are set to, and the autoexec is a compilation of settings/binds that are applied to etconfig each time ET is run.

Pretty much you'll want all of your button binds in your autoexec.
Above the button binds, you'll want to put "unbindall". This will clear out any binds in the etconfig and replace them with the ones in the autoexec.

This is very useful because it will delete old binds from etconfig that you have changed in the autoexec. For example, you have bound S to "vsay hi" in autoexec. When you run ET, autoexec is executed and S is bound to that command. Now say you want to change it to another button. Now you want A to "vsay hi". If you don't use unbindall, the old bind S "vsay hi" will still remain in the etconfig and possibly conflict with another command assigned to that button in the future.

At least this is how things go in my experience. The etconfig has its own unbindall as well, but before I used unbindall in my autoexec, I would still have to delete all of the old binds from etconfig to change something.. Perhaps its the order of execution of the cfg files or something...oh well... and still occasionally my ET will dump all of the default binds ontop of my current binds in etconfig for whatever reason..oh well...

R3B3L
Retired Clan Member
Retired Clan Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 7:00 pm
Location: Filming 3 naked men in a cow pasture holding their whiffleball bats
Contact:

Post by R3B3L » Sun Jan 07, 2007 12:28 pm

what does cg gibbs do
Image

User avatar
Nerdy
Retired Clan Member
Retired Clan Member
Posts: 63
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 7:00 pm
Location: Hiding in the bushes...

Post by Nerdy » Sun Jan 07, 2007 3:51 pm

Makes everyone go SPLAT when they are blown up, complete with chunky guts flying around.

surfgeko

Post by surfgeko » Sun Jan 07, 2007 6:41 pm

i know nerdy, i have that working, my question is if i can do that AND use the ub3r 1337 custom text for the vsay commands

User avatar
Nerdy
Retired Clan Member
Retired Clan Member
Posts: 63
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 7:00 pm
Location: Hiding in the bushes...

Post by Nerdy » Mon Jan 08, 2007 7:12 am

Oh, I was directing my post to anyone who wanted to know how to set up an autoexec.cfg...

I got all off track and forgot about the initial poster :doh: sorry.

In the case of what you're wanting to do, heres an example of how to do it.
set EnemyDisguisedSay "say Enemy in the skies!"
set db_1 "cg_novoicetext 1; vsay EnemyDisguised; vstr EnemyDisguisedSay"
set db_2 "cg_novoicetext 0"
bind K "+vstr db_1 db_2"
I just grabbed this from the unofficial et strat guide, so I don't know if you still need the cg_novoicetext command for Jaymod 2.01...

Locked