"Switch to alternate" - button
"Switch to alternate" - button
New problem.. So i cant replace that button in jaymod, its mouse 2, but i cant replace it.. i can replace it in normal mod but when i run to jaymod i cant.. so what i can do?
Thanks
***Late***
Thanks
***Late***
You could create a config which will contain all your binds. That way you can "exec" it and it will loads all the binds you want, in any ET mod.
Creat a file using notepad called: autoexec.cfg
Put it in the "etmain" folder in your ET directory.
Make sure you save it with the CFG file extension. Make sure to select ALL FILES so it doesn't save with the .txt file extension.
Insert this code into the autoexec.cfg (it is the default ET binds):
From there, you can modify which keys are bound to which functions. Say I wanted to make MOUSE2 crouch instead of weapon alt. I'd change "bind MOUSE2 "weapalt"" TO "bind MOUSE2 "+down"". Because Weapon alt was on MOUSE2 before it will be unbound, so you'll have to find a new key for it.
After you have started ET AND loaded Jaymod (or joined a jaymod server), pull down console and type: /exec autoexec.cfg
Upon doing so all your binds will be set according to the code in the autoexec.cfg file.
If you confused or got questions, just let me know.
Creat a file using notepad called: autoexec.cfg
Put it in the "etmain" folder in your ET directory.
Make sure you save it with the CFG file extension. Make sure to select ALL FILES so it doesn't save with the .txt file extension.
Insert this code into the autoexec.cfg (it is the default ET binds):
Code: Select all
unbindall
bind TAB "+scores"
bind ESCAPE "togglemenu"
bind SPACE "+moveup"
bind , "mapzoomout"
bind - "zoomout"
bind . "mapzoomin"
bind 0 "weaponbank 10"
bind 1 "weaponbank 1"
bind 2 "weaponbank 2"
bind 3 "weaponbank 3"
bind 4 "weaponbank 4"
bind 5 "weaponbank 5"
bind 6 "weaponbank 6"
bind 7 "weaponbank 7"
bind 8 "weaponbank 8"
bind 9 "weaponbank 9"
bind = "zoomin"
bind ` "toggleconsole"
bind a "+moveleft"
bind b "+zoom"
bind c "+movedown"
bind d "+moveright"
bind e "+leanright"
bind f "+activate"
bind g "+mapexpand"
bind l "openlimbomenu"
bind m "mvactivate"
bind q "+leanleft"
bind r "+reload"
bind s "+back"
bind t "messagemode"
bind u "messagemode3"
bind v "mp_quickmessage"
bind w "+forward"
bind x "+prone"
bind y "messagemode2"
bind z "mp_fireteammsg"
bind ~ "toggleconsole"
bind CAPSLOCK "+speed"
bind ALT "+stats"
bind CTRL "+topshots"
bind SHIFT "+sprint"
bind F1 "vote yes"
bind F2 "vote no"
bind F3 "ready"
bind F4 "notready"
bind F11 "autoscreenshot"
bind F12 "autorecord"
bind KP_LEFTARROW "selectbuddy 3"
bind KP_5 "selectbuddy 4"
bind KP_RIGHTARROW "selectbuddy 5"
bind KP_END "selectbuddy 0"
bind KP_DOWNARROW "selectbuddy 1"
bind KP_PGDN "selectbuddy 2"
bind KP_ENTER "mp_fireteamadmin"
bind KP_INS "selectbuddy -2"
bind KP_DEL "selectbuddy -1"
bind MOUSE1 "+attack"
bind MOUSE2 "weapalt"
bind MWHEELDOWN "weapprev"
bind MWHEELUP "weapnext"
After you have started ET AND loaded Jaymod (or joined a jaymod server), pull down console and type: /exec autoexec.cfg
Upon doing so all your binds will be set according to the code in the autoexec.cfg file.
If you confused or got questions, just let me know.

"There are three types of people in this world, those who can count, and those who can't"
- TrenchRager
- Newbie
- Posts: 1
- Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 7:00 pm
I actually asked in-game if Jaymod supported alt fire because it wouldn't let me configure the button, either. The only way I got it to work was to 'default' the layout before I joined the server. I'll get around to a custom .cfg file in a day or two. It's been about a year since I played this game, so I'm trying to ease into it.
-
- Retired Clan Member
- Posts: 239
- Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 7:00 pm
- Location: Making you cross-eyed with the Shotgun I point above your nose! :)
All you should have to do is this.
And make sure you save to your Jaymod profile with this.
Code: Select all
/bind mouse2 +attack2
Code: Select all
/writeconfig etconfig.cfg
-
- Newbie
- Posts: 6
- Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 7:00 pm
Next logical bind question
The next logical question regarding this thread would be:
Can you bind more than one kind of command to a key?
For instance, say I wanted to shoot and crouch at the same time... is this possible on a single key?
Thanks...
Can you bind more than one kind of command to a key?
For instance, say I wanted to shoot and crouch at the same time... is this possible on a single key?
Thanks...
-
- Retired Clan Member
- Posts: 1910
- Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 7:00 pm
- Location: Going insane one day at a time.
- Contact:
Re: Next logical bind question
Yes, but you would have to write a script for it, then bind that cfg script to the key. I dont have the time to go through it right now, but I know 999 had a sample somewhere if its still around, if not I am sure google will kick some up for you to use or look at.HoosierDaddy wrote:The next logical question regarding this thread would be:
Can you bind more than one kind of command to a key?
For instance, say I wanted to shoot and crouch at the same time... is this possible on a single key?
Thanks...

The basic code line for mulitple commands per key is:
For example:
On pressing K you would kill yourself (hence the kill command) then say in the global chat (hence the say command) "I just killed myself". This is a useless script, but demonstrates the concept. It can be much more useful for example:
These are the basic weapon binds (to 1, 2, 3, etc.) with the command to hide or show the weapon on the HUD. When cg_drawgun is set to 0 the weapon won't be drawn. When set to 1, it will be drawn. So for the knife, pistol, and SMG when selected will not show, but any other weapon will.
Scripting can get a bit more advanced when you start using variables. For example:
Using the set command, I assigned a couple commands to the varible "alpha". Then using the vstr command bound to K, I told ET to run the "alpha" varible.
The possibilities are quite numerous.
Code: Select all
bind [key] "[command 1]; [command 2]"
Code: Select all
bind K "kill; say I just killed myself"
Code: Select all
bind 1 "weaponbank 1; cg_drawgun 0"
bind 2 "weaponbank 2; cg_drawgun 0"
bind 3 "weaponbank 3; cg_drawgun 0"
bind 4 "weaponbank 4; cg_drawgun 1""
bind 5 "weaponbank 5; cg_drawgun 1"
bind 6 "weaponbank 6; cg_drawgun 1"
bind 7 "weaponbank 7; cg_drawgun 1"
bind 8 "weaponbank 8; cg_drawgun 1"
bind 9 "weaponbank 9; cg_drawgun 1"
bind 0 "weaponbank 10; cg_drawgun 1"
Scripting can get a bit more advanced when you start using variables. For example:
Code: Select all
set alpha "kill; say I just killed myself"
bind K "vstr alpha"
The possibilities are quite numerous.

"There are three types of people in this world, those who can count, and those who can't"