Custom resolution

General ET: Quake Wars Talk
Randolf

Custom resolution

Post by Randolf » Thu Jan 18, 2018 12:02 am

Hey guys,

i have seen few ppl who wanted to play QW on bigger screen or in higher resolution. Since this game is old and was not written for this kind of settings you cannot just tune it in game, so today we will use this dirty config files.

Note: I am not experienced when it comes to ETQW configs, so this post may need some editing.

Suggested Config Setup:
Make an myconfig.cfg in your My Documents\id Software\Enemy Territory - QUAKE Wars\base\ folder
Make an autoexec.cfg with a simple "exec myconfig.cfg" line in same folder in which you have myconfig,cfg,
If it doesn't load when game starts, open game and in console (Ctrl+Alt+~) write exec autoexec.cfg
Treat the myconfig.cfg as an autoexec - it will support both custom binds & will automatically execute on startup.
An autoexec under your *\base directory will not normally support binds, and setting up in this way will allow the execution to run smoother.
Now, when you find a CVAR or Bind you like from below, simply place it in your newly created myconfig.cfg!
If on game startup config doesn't work copy autoexec.cfg to your *\sdnet\yourname\base\ folder, it may help.

Config:
//General settings you may add on top of resolution
seta com_allowconsole "1" //open console with just ~
seta win_notaskkeys "0" //allows alt tab
seta com_useFastVidRestart 1 //allows alt+enter to put game in window
seta g_skipIntro "0"//skip that stupid intro
seta r_fullscreen "1" //puts game in fullscren, 0 for window mode
seta net_clientLagOMeter "1" //shows lagometer
seta com_videoRam "x" //change x to your video card memory, for my 1070 it's 8192
seta r_UseThreadedRenderer "2" // allows QW to use more than 1 CPU thread

//wanna higher refreshrate?
seta com_showfps "1"//shows fps
seta r_swapinterval "0" //disable vsync, 1 to enable, can be changed in game settings
seta com_unlockFPS "1" //unlocks fps over 30fps