Image

cvar command 'wait'

Want to make a map? Have one you made and want to test it out?
Locked
tromort
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 7:00 pm
Location: Earth.

cvar command 'wait'

Post by tromort » Mon Nov 24, 2008 12:54 pm

How does the cvar 'wait' work? im trying to make a script that at some part waits 15 sec. so Ill need the command wait but I wondered are the numbers after wait milli sec or has it something to do with fps?

Geek_Geoff
Clan Member
Clan Member
Posts: 118
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 7:00 pm
Location: In front of my computer eating hot chips

Post by Geek_Geoff » Mon Nov 24, 2008 2:00 pm

There is an ET command site that I use for references and it states that it counts 'ticks.'

Sorry that this cannot be more help. In my experience, a tick can be anything, but usually a second.
Efforts and courage are not enough without purpose and direction. - J.F.K.

-999-
Retired Clan Member
Retired Clan Member
Posts: 266
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 7:00 pm
Location: Strangled, pounced, boomed, hit with concrete and somehow on fire with pipe bomb under me

Post by -999- » Mon Nov 24, 2008 4:25 pm

Wait is in milliseconds, so wait 1000 = 1sec

Geek_Geoff
Clan Member
Clan Member
Posts: 118
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 7:00 pm
Location: In front of my computer eating hot chips

Post by Geek_Geoff » Mon Nov 24, 2008 11:58 pm

Thanks for clarifying that 999, because I didn't know that either.
Efforts and courage are not enough without purpose and direction. - J.F.K.

tromort
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 7:00 pm
Location: Earth.

Post by tromort » Tue Nov 25, 2008 10:50 am

Thx for the relpies, i also read about those ticks ;)

ferapont
Retired Clan Member
Retired Clan Member
Posts: 254
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 7:00 pm
Location: Seattle

Post by ferapont » Mon Apr 26, 2010 10:15 pm

hey, some more info i found out:

the wait time actually varies depending on your frames per second, how exactly i dont know, but you can modify your fps while you are executing a wait command to make it more exact.

it seems like wait will extend what ever action you are doing:

+attack // will continue to attack until you write -attack
+attack; -attack // activates attack and deactivates it
+attack; wait 100; -attack // continues to attack for "100" then deactivates attack

but wait blows sometimes cuz it doesnt mean do one action, wait, then do another action. it means continue doing what you are doing for some time.

rambling-lets say you want to attack for 20 seconds, wait 20 seconds, then jump for 10 seconds:

Code: Select all

+attack; wait 20; -attack; wait 20; +moveup; wait 10; -moveup
but you wont be able to move for that middle wait because you are executing -attack for 20 seconds, supposedly.

soooo what is it good for? dont know but a strafe script uses it well

Code: Select all

+moveleft; wait 10; -moveleft; +moveright; wait 10; -moveright
so this moves you left for "10" then moves right "10"
or if ur lazy you can use for arming dynos after you throw it down

Code: Select all

weaponbank 5; +attack; wait 100; -attack
so bind that baby and it will whip out your pliers and arm for "100" and you wont have to hold down ur mouse button.

that's all i got for now. hope it adds something to the conversation

Locked