Image

Problem

Want to make a map? Have one you made and want to test it out?
Post Reply
Oreo
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 7:00 pm

Problem

Post by Oreo » Mon Jan 28, 2008 11:01 pm

I do a \devmap evilpanz, it loads all the way, looks like the maps about to start, and crahses my game!, then this ridiculous error from xfire pops up and stuff, i tried turning that off, still crashed and gave me a windows error...



just lookin for somone to look at my map, the scripts are clean, had a friend clean them up and fix em. its also a panzer arena for a clan (*Evil*) I play ET with. Just lookin for a little help, if somone can take a peak you can download it below...

EDIT: I'll pm it or give it to you some other way...

RayBan
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 7:00 pm

Post by RayBan » Thu Jan 31, 2008 12:45 am

there are a few things you should do before you devmap a map, for et at
least, some ppl say all you need is a blue/red spawn and a info_player_deathmath.. which may be true for the 2.60 and up patch.

but a map requires mapcoords anyways, so you should put them in, they
would crash the map when you selected a team on earlier versions, and you
should put in all the minimum requirements so you know they are not causing
any problems.

mapcoordsmins, mapcoordsmaxs define the max area of the map, they are
needed to calulate size for things like mortars and such.

basicly you should make a brush thats square ( equal size ) that surrounds
your map, then set the coorinates for it in worldspawn, ie.

mapcoordsmins -1024 1024
mapcoordsmaxs 1024 -1024

would make a box thats square 2048 in equal size.

its also needed for proper command map icons and airstrikes and such.

if you do that and you still have a problem running a map, then we can check
further as to what is wrong.

an info_player_start or deathmatch
at least 1 red and blue spawn
and the map coords is all you need to test a map.

set sv_pure 0
set g_gametype 2
in console, and you should be able to test your map.

Oreo
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 7:00 pm

Post by Oreo » Thu Jan 31, 2008 11:59 am

Thanks Ray! I'll try it when I get home! I'm at school at the moment so i'll fix it and let you know!


P.S. Most of this seemed like an obvious when I read it, i've been trying to test it in 2.55 so again, thank you!

Oreo
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 7:00 pm

Post by Oreo » Thu Jan 31, 2008 9:56 pm

okay couple of questions...


in the what? lol, dont know where/what/how, that/to do is


and should the box be hollowed or not?

RayBan
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 7:00 pm

Post by RayBan » Fri Feb 01, 2008 7:01 pm

Oreo wrote:okay couple of questions...


in the what? lol, dont know where/what/how, that/to do is


and should the box be hollowed or not?
well, you really need to make an account at splashdamage.com

and check here,
http://www.splashdamage.com/forums/view ... a8de3acea5

there's a lot to cover in map making, so i recommend checking out the tutorials.

Oreo
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 7:00 pm

Post by Oreo » Fri Feb 01, 2008 11:58 pm

right on! :wtg: :lol: okay thank you!

Post Reply